About a Blog

The point of this blog is personal navel-gazing introspection. I want that clear immediately. I am speaking on my own life, from my own perspective, using my own experience. I will do my best to do so in a non-exclusive or erasing way, but I am flawed, and limited in my view.

The reason I’m starting this blog is thus:

I’ve had a few major revelations about my life and myself in the last six months, and I’m still reeling. I’m not even sure how to handle myself right now, let alone how to move forward. I needed a place to stop and catch my breath, where I could talk about the little things and the big things that I find myself dwelling on or I am unsure how to tackle. Talking (or in this case, writing) things out has always been a very important part of information processing for me. I am insanely lucky in that I have multiple people in my life who I can dump things on and know that they will listen to me babble for as long as I need to in order to process and unwind, but I think I’d like to have a record of where my mind was during this time of change and attempted personal growth. I still need and love my confidantes, but it’s reassuring to have a safe space meant for me to meditate on my own thoughts without worrying about inconveniencing others. If you find yourself inconvenienced while on this page, it is very easy to find the door.

I want to write separate posts about the major revelations in my life, my struggles with them, and why they’re a big deal, so I won’t explain them here.

Other than those things, I am also working on changing myself for the better, which I know is a project I’ll be continuing for the rest of my life. I am a feminist, and as such I know I need to work out a lot of internal garbage that has been placed on me by society. I don’t accept “society made me like this” as an excuse for anyone else to use, so I absolutely can’t accept using it myself. If you tell me society made you the way you are, my only response will be “Well, what are you going to do about it?” My answer is a lot of research, soul-searching, and an attempt to get my shit together.

I’ll try to back up my points with facts when possible and link to additional reading occasionally. I want to keep this journal pretty closely tied to my individual experiences, but I really like the idea of being able to provide resources for those that want/need them.

Aside from personal junk, I’m likely to talk about Rape Culture, Feminism, Skepticism, Current Events, Politics, Various Geekery, and swear a whole fucking ton. And I’ll moderate any comments like a merciless totalitarian dictator. Ye be warned.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

